Chairlift Evacuation Refresher

To: All Patrollers

Re: Chairlift Evacuation Saturday October 12, 2019

Dear Patrollers,

As in the past we will be refreshing our chairlift evacuation skills on Saturday October 12th.

Similar to the last few years, there will be two sessions – morning and afternoon.  You will need to sign up for the sessions on Humanity.  The sessions are limited to 50 patrollers so that we can keep to our timeline and provide enough instructors and equipment to give everyone a proper refresher on our skills.

Candidates do not need to sign up for these sessions, but plan to arrive at the hill at 8AM on the 12th.  Some details on your day are below.

Session 1 will start at 7:45AM and run to roughly noon.  Session 2 will start at 11:15AM and run until roughly 3:30PM. Please arrive promptly for your session.

Evac Refresher Agenda is as follows:

  1. Knots – during arrival (15 min)
  2. Safety – (5 min)
  3. Equipment Demo (25 min)
  4. Break into groups and mote to stations or chair for evac (15 min)

5A. Lift evac group 1 (1.5 hours)

5B. Statons (1.5 hours)


        Evac procedure

        Raise a patroller to the chair / small children discussion

*Groups switch after 1.5 hours

Candidates Agenda:

  • Candidates will start out with training on all areas of chair evacuation – Knots, safety, communication, procedure, equipment, belay positions, talking/lead position, getting lines over chair, lockout tag out – 8AM-11:15AM
  • Participate in Evac 11:15AM to 3:15PM

This refresher is mandatory to be a member of our patrol. If you cannot make this date, you have the option of attending the night evac on Thursday January 9th at 5PM.  This session will also be in Humanity – please sign up if that is needed for your schedule.

If you have questions, do not hesitate to reach out to Chad Lorensen at

Updated: September 7, 2019 — 2:53 pm

Election Results

Congratulations to Brendan Wall, who is the new Patrol Representative. Brendan will assume those duties on July 1, 2019 for a two year term.

Congratulations also go out to Cody Jones, Gretchen Girard, and Ben Waldera who were elected to the board. Cody and Gretchen will begin their 2nd term on July 1st, and Ben will start his first three year term.

Updated: April 28, 2019 — 9:04 pm

Award Winners

Congratulations to our 2019 Award Winners

Outstanding OEC Candidate–Tammy Tierney

Outstanding Patroller 101 Candidate–Glenn Tomkins

Outstanding OEC Instructor–Bob Hudecek

Outstanding Non-OEC Instructor–Dani McPherson

Outstanding Patroller–Brian Small

Patrol Directors Award–Gretchen Girard for all of her work in recruiting

Bravo Award–Toni Thornton with 470 hours

Most toboggan runs during the season–Toni Thornton with 26

Angel Awards

  • Amanda Jones
  • Tom Nichols
  • Mark McNally

Length of Service Awards

  • David Noland–35 years
  • Steve Stormer-30 years
  • James Venske-30 years
  • Eric Gesteland-25 years
  • Dan Ida-25 years
  • Shannon Hornback-20 years
  • Fred Kunkel-15 years
  • Zach Havens-10 years
  • Linda Hinickle-10 years
  • Cody Jones-10 years
  • Jeremy McPherson-10 years
  • Jim Collar-5 years
  • Bailey Gesteland-5 years
  • Colleen Rogers-5 years
Updated: April 28, 2019 — 7:52 pm